barcelona.made.NYC.style.*VEGANIZED*cheesecake. OMG

share-3

I remember walking miles through Zürich to my favorite vegetarian restaurant just to grab a piece of this amazing cheesecake they prepared there. It had this super moist, semisweet base that caught my attention! I never actually tried to make one myself, I did not feel ready too, I guess, until now 🙂 Last week I had a vision – suddenly I knew how to veganize the whole thing and make it even better! claro.

I baked a carrot cake for an event and I wanted the portions to look good so I cut the cake into round patties, there were a lot left overs, I could eat them for breakfast, I was thinking – OR let them get rock hard and use them as a cheesecake base, so far so good…..once the left overs where hard enough, I added freshly squeezed grapefruit juice and a handful of soaked dates, blended everything until I had a smooth, crumbly mass. If you go for it keep checking and add more liquid, if needed, make sure it is moist otherwise it will fall apart later. I pressed the mass into a spring form and put it aside.

For the filling I mixed avocados, lemon juice and a teaspoon of melted coconut oil, poured the filling on the base and put the cake into the fridge, the coconut oil makes the filling firm, add more if you want to be able to cut the cake, add less if you like the filling creamy.

CAVE: this is a dessert and it contains a lot of fat – it is delicious no doubt on that though 😉 so have a piece and share with your buddies.

ENJOY.

Leave a Reply

